Divergent

divergentLet me just come out and say I really liked this book! I finished the first twenty-six chapters in one day, which having a child to take care of and other plans for that day, is pretty good! If it wasn’t for the fact that I was reading it way past my bedtime and I was completely exhausted then I probably would’ve finished it that night.

I was a little nervous heading into the book that it was going to be a lot like The Hunger Games (which it was). I feel like I’d already read The Hunger Games and seen the movies so I don’t really want to read another similar story. How can you top The Hunger Games right? Well, to my surprise, their resemblance didn’t hurt the book in any way. So if you liked The Hunger Games you will like this.

We follow this story through the eyes of Beatrice Prior, a sixteen year old, who’s one decision leads her to a place she expected but there’s a lot thrown her way she didn’t expect. Through finding friends, enemies, and love she faces betrayal and loss like she never thought she would. A combination that makes it all the more exciting to read.ย Veronica Roth did a wonderful job in exploring places that are very hard yet interesting to explore…fear. I think that was my favorite thing about this book was the fact that the character’s fears are made so obvious to the reader and you get to see how she handles each one. Who can’t relate to being fearful at times?

Looking forward to reading the next 2 books in the trilogy.

This was a great book. Easy read. Action. Love. Only thing I didn’t like was a couple twists at the end. All in all I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

