And Then I Became a Mother…

mercy

You know how you’re walking through the store and you hear a kid throwing a fit? The first thing most people do, and I know the first thing I would do is judge. We all do it. Let’s say you’re sitting in church and from across the sanctuary you hear someone’s kid whisper too loudly and cause a little bit of a ruckus. How dare that kid be so noisy that I hear them from 50 feet away! I know, I used to be this way. And, trust me, I’m still working on it.

But nothing has humbled me more than having kids of my own. Now, I’d like to add a little disclaimer here. No, I don’t think you should let your kids disrespect you or others, embarrass you, be impolite, or irreverent in the House of God. It’s our job as parents to train our kids in the way they should go Proverbs 22:6. And training up our children encompasses so many things. Be a good parent and teach your children how to act and good manners.

However, I do believe there are some things you just can’t help. For instance, we have been blessed beyond measure with a beautiful daughter who is so full of energy. She’s always happy and has brought a great amount of joy and sunshine to our lives. The rich ingredient she has brought into this family is priceless and irreplaceable. She is always so excited to be around people. All it takes is to mention we are going to church, to someone’s house, the store, etc.. and she gets a burst of excitement and energy come out of her that’s like nothing else. She loves it! And we love her for it!

Because of this, though, it becomes really hard for her to contain herself sometimes. She’s excited to be around people and so sometimes she doesn’t listen to mom and dad as well as she should. Since she is a bundle of energy it is harder for her to sit still and quiet in church when really she is bursting at the seams to see others and spend time with friends.

It’s been a learning experience for us. Especially myself as I’m the one who sits with her during a church service(my husbands sits with the band.) I’m learning. I’m learning. And I think I will always be learning things as a mom. But one of the biggest things I’ve learned is…don’t judge other children, parents, and families. You don’t know the struggles they face. You don’t know how hard they are working to overcome those struggles. And until you’re a parent or even have a child with a more energetic personality it’s probably safe not to judge. Or maybe you have a child with a very shy, closed off personality and that may bring a new host of traits to work through. I wouldn’t know 🙂

Either way every family has to go through what they have to go through. Maybe from your perspective it isn’t being done the “right way.” But who are we to say so? Isn’t God the true judge? I’ve come to realize God gives you the children that YOU need. And I thank Him for it and the children I have!

Leave a Reply

