No More Excuses I’m Going To Read My Bible

“For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth.” Isaiah 55:10-11a

I’ve had such a desire stir in my heart to read and become more familiar with His Word. And it’s in my list of Godly Resolutions you can read here.  A message was given by my pastor back in August about the Word of God. It truly inspired me. From then on I’ve had an increasing desire to make the Bible a priority. A couple of statements he made in this message that stood out to me were, “God speaks every day through His Word. His will is in His Word.”

biblenotes

The Bible is literally a Christian’s instruction manual. In it I find everything I need for my daily walk with Him. It’s as a rain that cometh in and nourishes my life so that I can grow more in Him. I learn how to treat my brothers and sisters, how to be a good friend, how to forgive, how to have charity, how to walk righteously, how we ought to love. The list goes on and on.

But more than those things I get to learn more about my God and Savior. I get to read of His love. How he sent His only Son so that I may live eternal life. I have the privilege of reading how when Christ came and died on the cross for you, for me, how grace was applied. Where there was sin and death-Christ came and was obedient unto death. Where sin abounds in my life, grace does much more abound!! Romans 5:20

How empty and hopeless my life would be without Him. But how much more faith and hope and love I can have by reading His Word; by increasing my knowledge and understanding of what He’s done for me I will have more of a relationship with Him. The Word is powerful enough to move me from a destiny of death to a destiny of life. II Timothy 3:15 I can have life changing encounters with God through His Word. It’s powerful enough to change my way of thinking. Ephesians 5:26

I want to read his Word, I want to talk about it, I want to meditate on it, I want to sing it! In these words of life is my God and my Savior, in these words are His will for me. I want to fill my mind with more of His Word. And by doing this I’ll begin to have more communication with Him as He speaks to me through it.

I’ve never been faithful about reading my Bible. It’s something I really need to work on and make a priority in my life. But I think God is so great, in that He knows the desire of our hearts. And when we have a desire to learn more of Him, He will satisfy those desires. I’ve had some experiences (dealing with every day life, the kids, praying for friends, etc…) in just the last couple of months and a scripture will come to my mind. And I KNOW it’s God speaking to me. And it’s causing me to want to read the scriptures more!

Like I said, I’ve never been good about reading and having a knowledge of His Word. Sure, I’ve heard it my whole life. But to have scriptures randomly come to me like that has never happened. I know it’s God giving me a greater desire to search out the scriptures. I want to listen to His call. He’s asking me to draw closer. And I know that as I draw closer to Him that He will draw closer to me. Grant it, LORD! And I just have to give Him the glory!

 I really have no excuses why the Bible can’t be apart of some part of my every day life. I’m not running around like a chicken with its head cut off from the second I open my eyes to the minute I close them. There are always times in my day where I’m relaxing here and there. Either I’m nursing my son, putting him to sleep, taking 10-20 minutes to myself while my daughter plays in her room, or the 2-3 hours I have in the evening after my kids are asleep. There’s plenty of time to read 2-4 chapters a day of the Bible. So, why do I always make excuses for myself not to read my Bible through in a year?

I’m ashamed I’ve never read my Bible through, cover to cover, in a year. Shouldn’t that be something every Christian has done? Yet, somehow I’ve always come up with a reason or why not to. And somehow I always feel justified by those excuses. But this year those reasons and excuses just aren’t enough. I may have 2 kids and a house to tend to, but let’s be honest, I always have times throughout the day where I have the opportunity to look through my phone. I check some social media, pin some things on Pinterest, do some texting, etc… And I have the KJV Bible on my phone so why don’t I read it while I have some down time?

I know it won’t be easy. I may miss a day here or there. I know it will be hard to bring my mind under submission and really focus on what I’m reading. I have no excuses. I have nothing to lose, but everything to gain.

One thought on “No More Excuses I’m Going To Read My Bible

  1. Such truth! If you let God’s word reign in your life, there is no telling how you will be changed. Great thoughts for us all to think about as we begin a new year. Get the dust off those Bibles!

Leave a Reply

