Fat Dad, Fat Kid Book Review

 Fat Dad, Fat Kid came out December 29, 2015, and that’s the day it arrived on our doorstep. I began reading it pretty much immediately. I’m not one to read “fitness” or health books. I never have before. But because I’m pretty familiar with Shay Carl and the Shaytards and what they do on YouTube I wanted to read this book.

 My first thought while reading this was what a great way to start the year! The timing of it’s release was perfect. New year, new you type of stuff right here in this book. From the title, the cover, and most of the content in the book its pretty safe to assume this is a fitness book. But I’d like to better classify it as just a motivational book. It’s a really motivating book! Sure, it focuses more on physical aspects, but I think all of what is in here can be applied to your every day life.

I think that if you get really serious about your physical health, you work hard, you play hard, eat healthy, do more, that all of that will leak out into other aspects of what you do with your life. You work harder for yourself, you’ll work harder for those around you, and you will reap the rewards from that.

Something else you may take from looking at the cover, and something I’ve read a lot of comments saying based on the cover or those who know the Shaytards, is that they don’t look like thin and trim or health experts. That’s true. They aren’t. But I really don’t think this was written with a “This is what you need to do-look at how great we look” objective. The whole book and all of its chapters are a challenge between a father and his son, over the span of a month, to learn more about being healthier. It’s dinner time, will you choose to hydrate yourself with refreshing water your body needs or this brown sugary drink? Will you eat a double bacon cheeseburger or opt for something healthier?

What I took from this book is it really isn’t a number on the scale, sure that’s a good measure, but it’s how you feel. Its the good or bad habits you make that affect your health. Its the good or bad choices you make that will either help you or put you further into a life of health issues. It’s about changing your thinking. Change how you look at food. Shay and his son aren’t experts or the thinnest people in the world, but their book motivated me!

I’m not going to say no forever to the things I enjoy eating like cookies, pizza and soda. I’m probably not going to exercise everyday. But more often than not I’m going to make better choices. Not sit around all day, day after day. Do I have to give up my chocolate chip cookies I love so much? No! But do I need to make them every single week? No, that’s probably not healthy. Do I have to eat nothing but fruits and vegetables? Well, that’d probably be good for me to do at least for a little while, but no I’m not going to do that. I am, however, going to eat them more often and make them more apart of my meals and snacks.

So, maybe you aren’t looking to read a “how to” book on fitness and health. You just need some motivation to get you going in the right direction. Then, this is definitely the book you want to read. After that it’s up to you to take action and do what you feel you need to do to feel better!

Leave a Reply

